Chapter 4.2 – Roughing It

Kyle’s Point of View

The house was down right creepy. Completely empty, but very creepy. There was garbage everywhere, and the house smelled like someone took a crap all over it. I didn’t want to be in it, or anywhere near it! But did we honestly have a choice?

“Fraser…” I choked, casting him a disgruntled glance “Is… that a toilet on top of a pair of boxers?”

He nodded his head and scrunched his face. “That’s just disgusting. I honestly don’t wanna know where that came from… or how it got there.”

“Fray this place looks like it’s been abandoned for years.” I sighed, my eyes bouncing all over the place “How long do we have to wait in here, before you think it’s safe to go outside?”

He smirked. His grin growing wider by the second. “Leave? Who said anything about… leaving?”

I threw my hands up and shook my head no repeatedly “Oh HECK no!” I shouted, casting his a disgusted look “I am not staying here for the night! I’d rather take my chances with the crazy mountain man, then sleep here.”

“Oh come on Kyle! This is the perfect place to hide out!” he groaned, slipping his fingers through his hair “We have an address to put on our school forms, we have shelter from the weather, and plus… no one knows where here! You said it yourself, this place has been abandoned for years!”

“Now you go check out the bathroom for running water, and I’ll check the house for electricity.” he stated, pointing towards the doors standing by each other.

I sighed VERY loudly, and inched open the first door that I came to. The foul smelling fumes smacked me in the face, and for a second I thought I was going to get sick. I rushed over to the sink and twisted the knobs. At first no water came out at all. It just made this ungodly creaking noise. Then after about 5 seconds, the pipes rumbled and this tar colored liquid started pouring out!

“OFF! OFF!” I gasped, twisting the knobs as hard as I could “Dangit, turn OFF!” Oh god, why me?! Why this house!? Can’t we just share the beach with the hobo? I get along nicely with animals… I’m sure wolves are just like overgrown dogs, right?

I threw open the bathroom door, and stomped out. “Well…” I growled “The sink works, if you don’t mind bathing in tar.”

Fraser laughed at me, and blew me a kiss “It’s alright sweetie. Don’t worry about it. I’m sure if we let it run for awhile it will change color. Were not going to drink it, but we do need to have it for the toilet.”

I rolled my eyes and watched as he trailed over to the fridge. I was going to say something, but I bit my tongue. I’m just gonna let him have this one.

He inched open the fridge door and the foul smell was thrown into his face “Oh…. GOD!” he coughed, slamming the fridge shut “What ever you do… don’t EVER open this thing. I swear something is dead in there!”

Serves him right for laughing at me!

Time just seemed to pass us by, as we stood in the “living” room talking about our plans. It was then that I felt the heaviness of my eyelids, and my yawns increased by the seconds. I didn’t want to feel tired, because I didn’t want to fall asleep.

I creaked open the second door, and flicked on the switch. One rusted old lamp flickered on, and shone to us another nightmare. “Alright, so how are we doing this?” I questioned Fraser, who was eying the crusted slab of bed like it was heaven. 

He dropped off all his clothes, and threw on some Pj bottoms. “We’ll swap each night. Tonight I’ll get the bed, and you get the sleeping bag. Alright?”

I nodded my head and sighed once more “Fine. Just… whatever.”

I honestly didn’t want to sleep on that so-called bed anyways. It was dirty, it smelled, and I hated to think of who slept on it before. Oh dear god… please don’t let Fraser catch some disease! Oh, who am I kidding? This whole house is infested with diseases…. soon enough it will be one of us.

I laid my sleeping bag out onto the dampened floor, and crawled inside of it. The air around me smelled of mothballs and must. The wall next to me was covered in some kind of mold, and I swear I saw a rat run by my arm. Sure my eyes were closed, but it didn’t mean I was sleeping. Fraser on the other hand, was out like a light. The moment his head hit that pillow he was out cold. I wish I had an empty conscience like that. Where I didn’t think about the things around me, and I could just fall into a deep sleep.

Over the next few days things just seemed to drag on. It was hard to sleep, it was difficult to eat, and now that we were finally in school… that was just another headache thrown on top of us.

One Sunday morning I woke up and decided that I would go out and get some breakfast for Fraser and me. We only had about 200 bucks left, but… I really wanted something fresh and warm. We couldn’t make anything, because the stove was broken -not to mention a hazzard- plus we had no way to keep produce fresh anyways.

I arrived at the diner at around 9:30 am, and just stood in front of it. Before I had the chance to go in, I heard this screaming coming from around back! Of course I was curious as to who it was, and where it was coming from… so I went to check it out.

“Jimmy, I’m so freaking tired of your crap! Get out of my face, and get off of my property! YOUR FIRED!” The man raged, screaming and yelling in the other guys face.

“SCREW YOU BOB!” the guy shouted, before storming away.


I know it was stupid, and a bit to brave -even for me- but I approached the man.

“Excuse me? Sir?” I coughed, and he turned around.

“Yea kid? What do you want?” he sighed, rubbing the top of his brow.

“I-… I couldn’t help but over here what happened. Tough break, losing your staff… right?” I sighed, trying to cool him down. I had a plan, it was a long shot… but what did I have to lose?

“Yea I guess so. I ain’t gonna miss his lazy butt anyways. He didn’t do his job right. I only had him doing a simple task! Bus the tables! Stupid idiot.” he growled, clenching his fist.

“Well… I see that your short a guy now.” I hinted, rubbing the back of my neck.

“Yea, so?” he questioned, raising his brow “What’s it to you?”

“I was just wondering… that maybe… I could have his job?” I asked, and my palms grew sweaty. I was so nervous he would say no. I really needed this job. Being down to our last couple bucks… I was scared to death on how we would survive.

He sighed loudly, and closed his eyes to me “Kid, I don’t know. I really don’t need another chump working for me right now. I could easily bus the tables myself… I’m sorry.”

My eyes glazed over a little with tears, and I stared at him “Please sir. I REALLY need this job. Not even full-time, just part. Please! My family is so desperate for money. We’re down to our last 200 bucks, and I have no idea how we’re gonna live like this! I swear I’ll work hard!”

He looked away from me, then back again “Alright. You start tomorrow. You come in at 7:00am and set up the diner. Then you come back at 3 and stay till 8, you understand?”

I nearly hugged him, I swear I was inches away from doing it. “OH THANK YOU!” I smiled wide, shaking his hand “I promise I won’t let you down!”

“Yea yea… now come on, let’s have some breakfast. It’s on the house.”

So that’s how it was for the next couple weeks. I would wake up early, set up the diner, then run as fast as I could to school. Sometimes I had to serve people there, because no one else came in… and it caused me to be late on many occasions.

Crap not again!

Fraser’s Point of View

With Kyle working everyday of the week, I found time to start cleaning up the house. At first we had no idea what to do with all the old junk, but since we have money coming in we were able to rent out this giant dumpster.

“What were you people thinking?” I groaned, as I picked up the broken toilet “I mean seriously, who does things like this?!”

And since the water in the bathroom was running everyday, the pipes started to clear up and the water only came out as a light brown now. It wasn’t the greatest, but at least it wasn’t the tar liquid we first had to deal with.

“Come on you stupid sink, get CLEAN! I’m tired of looking at all this grime on you… UGH!” I must be lonely without Kyle around, if the only “people” I can talk to is the sink and old trashy furniture. 

“Where do I even begin with you?”

Another struggle over the weeks had to be school work. Since Kyle had to do his job at the diner, I was stuck doing part of his homework. Of course when he got home we would go over it, and he would finish the rest… but I still hated doing double work. They placed us in different classes, so I was clueless as to what he was learning. Well… except for science and math. I loved doing that part. I really missed my science table, and working with a microscope. It always brought a smile to my face. It’s sad because this school doesn’t have as much to offer as my old school did… I kind of miss that.

The following night, while Kyle was at work… I decided to go for a walk. It was a nice cool night, with a gentle breeze that tickled your ears. I slowly paced myself alongside the road, and watched as the world passed me by. Along my little journey I came across a store, inside thus store, they were selling throw away phones. Of course guilt, and the eagerness to hear my parents, got the better of me. I quickly bought myself one, and fled out the door.

“You can do this Fraser.” I whispered to myself “Just dial the number.”

I typed in my mom’s cell number, and let it ring. Once… twice… three times… On the forth ring the line picked up and I heard my mom’s voice “Hello?”

I choked a little. Not being able to bring myself to say anything. “Hello??” she asked once more.

“M-mom!” I finally sputtered out “It’s me mom…”

“Oh my god! FRASER! Where are you? Why did you leave? Are you coming home?! It’s been weeks!” my mothers questions ran on and on. I couldn’t even get a word in edge wise!

“Mom, I can’t tell you where I am. I’m not coming home… I don’t think I ever will.” I sighed, running my fingers through my hair.

“But why! Fraser we have been a nervous wreck wondering where you were! Why didn’t you at least call us? Your not in any trouble are you?” she cried, and I could feel her pain through the phone.

“No me and Kyle are perfectly fine. Were in school, and Kyle has a job now. We live in this… small “house.” I breathed, feeling the stinging of my eyes, as I tried to hold back tears.

“Fraser, can’t you just let us know where you are? Please?!” she sniffled, and my heart almost broke.

“I’m sorry mom… I just can’t. I love you.”

“I love you too.” And with that I hung up. I couldn’t bare to listen to her voice any longer. I could hear the pain she was in, the fear in her voice. I didn’t ever want to hear my mom in a state like this. The stinging in my eyes turned into two single tears riding down my cheeks.

I’m so sorry…”

To go and cool off, I went to the local gym. I wasn’t only fighting stress, but depression as well. I couldn’t let Kyle see me this way, and honestly I couldn’t do this to myself. I made the decision to run away, and I’ll never go back on it. I love Kyle too much to give up now. He means everything to me.

I strained, and pushed myself. Adding more weights after each lift. I’d do anything to just get my mind off everything.

As I was working on my legs, I felt a presence behind me. At first I thought I was going crazy, and that maybe it was just my imagination. It wasn’t until it spoke, that I knew it was for real!

“Fraser?”

I jumped off the weight set, and screeched “HOLY CRAP! You scared me!”

The guy chuckled a bit, before asking my name once more. “You are Fraser, right?”

“How in the world do you know my name?!” I growled at him, clenching my fist “Are you that Physco that’s been following me around?!”

“Wh- No! I mean, I was following you, but I’m not a stalker or anything. I just wanted to talk to you.” he sighed, a hint of guilt slipping in.

“Why should I talk to you?” I snapped “You say your not a stalker, yet low and behold… you were following me yet again!”

“I’m really sorry Fraser. Can you please here me out?” he begged, throwing his arms out in desperation.

“Fine. Spill it.”

“Alright, so you remember Twinbrook middle school? Grade 6?” he smirked, and nodded my head in confusion. “Well, I went to the same school as you! I was in grade 8. Fraser… I remember you blowing up that science lab, and how you got expelled.”

“What does this have to do with anything?! Your just sounding more creepy by the second…”

“What I was trying to get to… is that your gifted in science! I took that concoction you had and brought it back to my house. I tested all the added ingredients, and was amazed such a young kid knew more than ME! I worked so hard trying to figure out how to do that!” he laughed, throwing his arms in the air.

“So what are you saying?”

“What I’m saying… is that I want you to work for me in my science facility, as an unpaid intern! I own one here in Ocean Breeze, and when I saw you on the beach that day… I just knew I had to talk to you. I just didn’t know how to come about doing it.

“Wow really?! You want me to work with you?” I gleamed, smiling wide.

“Yea! All you have to do is get your parents approval. Have them come in, and I’ll give all of you a tour. We can talk in my office, and then your in!”

“My… uhh… parents?”

Thanks for reading!! (:


*Edit: Thanks to Callierose for letting me use Crimson! (:

About Jax

"My fake plants died because I did not pretend to water them." - Mitch Hedberg
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Chapter 4.2 – Roughing It

  1. wolfmania98 says:

    WOO! Crimson!!!! OH! Fray has a bit of a problem…i LOVED the cleaning up. Dont know why, I just did. naaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwww poor kitty :'(. And well done Kyle 🙂

  2. Jedidiah says:

    Ah that place is a dump! Gross gross gross! I’m glad that Kyle got a job, they really need it. You captured their struggle really well. And here is Crimson again to spook poor Fras. Unpaid internship? Well, sounds fishy to me. 😉 And Unibrow better be nice to Kyle or else!!!

    • spongeb0berz says:

      Yea it is a real dump! But it’s better than nothing ;/ Thanks, yet another breather off of me… phew! Glad i did okay. Aahahah yuppers, poor Fraser being spooked by Crimson! Lmao, yea unibrow bob needs to treat kyle well!

  3. Carebear728 says:

    I almost teared when he spoke to his mom it was so touching. I hope eventually Fraser can atleast see his parents

  4. Kiari says:

    Aww Kitty and Cale must have been so worried and upset. 😦
    Yayy I ❤ Crimson!!!! 😀 Is he out of the story now? 😦
    Loved your description of the 'house'. It looks like such a dump!
    That's good that Kyle has a job now but I wonder what Fraser will do about the science internship…

  5. Amy6 says:

    Aww poor things, having to live in such a disgusting place *Shivers*
    Great chapter, as always!

  6. StyxLady says:

    Oh man, that place is hideous! Reminds me of Gabe’s place in Splintered Sun. XD I’m proud of the boys for working and going to school…they’re doing a great job so far.

  7. bluefudge08 says:

    Awesome Chapter sponge! I wonder if Fraser is going to spill the beans to that guy that he ran away. The part about the tar in the sink disgusted me LOL

  8. sariechiny says:

    Oooh…I see what Crimson’s part in this story is now…(:
    Wow, I can’t believe they’re managing alright! Even in that “dump” they’re living in…d:
    Great chapter, as always! (:

  9. Emy says:

    What is it with sims and leaving broken toilets everywhere? 😉 I loved Fraser cleaning up, though. It made me giggle. I do worry that Kyle and his relationship is going to get a bit strained because of all this.

    Why, hello, Crimson. 😀 I have to admit, he was being a little creepy following Fraser around like that. XD

    Kyle looks adorable in his diner uniform. XD

    • spongeb0berz says:

      Yea, Scientist can be a little loopy in the brain when it comes to reality. XD He probably thought he wasn’t doing anything wrong. Ahaha I know! Yucky broken toilets! Oooo Emy you always catch onto me 😉 Kyle is going through a lot of stress.

  10. SimLover0510 says:

    Amazing chapter! I loved the phone call,so sad! You really have a way with words! Is there maybe any chance that next chapter we can see a picture of the cuteness that is Jackie?Just asking if not that is fine! Just wanted to say that it was an awesome chapter and that you shouldn’t worry so much if we will like it or not,you know we will!

  11. callierose says:

    Awww Crimson, he’s so cute when he’s all sciencey 😉
    I totally teared up when he phoned home.. POOR KITTY 😥 and you neeed to show us Jackie!!!
    Kyle should have a twin sister who donates an egg.. it would make the whole pregnancy issue a whole lot easier. dammit, same-sex pregnancies not being realistic -.-

    • spongeb0berz says:

      Yaaaaah, I know! I was thinking the whole donor thing, but the two guys Ahem… “friends” combinding with the egg is gonna be a little bit fiction. Not what I wanna do… but it’s what I’m thinking about doing. Yea little Science Crimson 😉 ❤

  12. Roniyin says:

    r there going to be mod babies or not

  13. Okay, first want to say how incredibely sorry I am that I’m still not caught up. I’m really trying and I started at 11 PM yesterday but at 4 AM I just fell asleep.xD

    And nooooww what I wanted to ask 🙂 Do you offer your sims for download? For my new ISBI I’m filling up my neighbourhood with legacy sims and simselves, and I need some more sims to use 🙂 I was wondering if I could use yours. Thanks already and I completely understand if you don’t want to!

    • spongeb0berz says:

      Of course I would want too! 🙂 I’ll give you my simself, just as soon as I … get it on the exchange ._. It’s still in my box. Sure uhhh, Heather is up for Download right now and so is Kitty. There is two. My username is Spongeb0b on the sims 3.

  14. Ohhh I love this story plot 😀 I wonder what Fraser will say to Crimson and I just can’t help but feel like something really terrible is going to happen to Fraser now that he’s called Kitty. Talking about Kitty I almost burst into tears reading the phone call! Also I can’t wait to see some cute babies! Although I understand the problem about the baby and how it’s not realistic, but I was thinking with the internship he and crimson could find some weird way for a same-sex baby as they are scientists. I don’t really know just a weird Idea 🙂

    • spongeb0berz says:

      I know, I have been thinking about a lot of possiblites as well. It’s hard to make it realistic when it comes to sims… but I have no choice in this case ;/ I’m gonna go with my first plan because it’s not too crazy, but it will work out. Thanks, I’m glad you like the story plot! 🙂

  15. Esther says:

    Ehm, could you just get me a link, becayse the only spongebob I found had nothing in his studio 0_o Sorry for bothering you.

    About the babies problem: maybe you could do a casting call?

  16. Esther says:

    Also, I followed you back on twitter! How did you find my account? 🙂

  17. Esther says:

    nvm about the first comment, found you already 🙂

  18. marissa3 says:

    Ha! I loved Fraser talking to all the inanimate objects, just like me when I’m alone!
    I’m glad Kyle got a job, even if it is a pretty sucky one.
    That science guy is weird – maybe he’s being genuine but meh, stalking a student?! And the job is unpaid!
    I’m glad Fraser called home, I can’t think what they’re going through 😦
    Can’t wait for more of Fraser! x

    • spongeb0berz says:

      It’s unpaid for just a little while, until he know’s he’s good enough. Maybe he is… maybe he isn’t 😉 Llol ikr, same here! Espically when I’m cleaning I’ll get made that their dirty xD

Leave a Reply

