Chapter 7.8 – Déjà vu

Author’s Note: Sorry if this is lousy… I just feel really bleh from this sinus infection. I really wanted to get this chapter out though so I can work on the next one. Thanks for your patience with me >_<

Screenshot

Ryder’s Point of View

Tomorrow is the deadline for my decision, James only gave me one week to pick and I have my heart set in stone on who I wanted. Yeah, I know that Persephone let me sleep with her, and it was awesome but… I still feel like I should just take her with me to the jail. It’s been driving me up the freaking wall, but for some reason I just want Kara to be safe. I’d like to say the same thing for Persephone… but she’s really starting to get on my nerves. She’s been so freaking mean to me these last couple of days! Why would I want to live with that?!

I walked past Persephone on my way to find Kara. I just had to sit down with her and try to get her to change her mind about the choice she made. I know she hates my guts and that she just wants to choose her own way of living… but there just has to be some way for her to agree with me. I mean, how can she say no to that anyways? I’m willing to pick her to stay with me! That’s like a free ride out of this crap hole; I know I can’t wait to get out.

Persephone glared at me, “Where are you going?”

I stopped and glanced over my shoulder, “Uhm, why? What’s it to you anyways?”

“Oh just shut up you prick!” She scoffed and then charged into the bathroom.

See what I mean?! She’s just always trying to pick some kind of fight with me for NO reason whatsoever! If I breathe the wrong way she’s all down my throat. I don’t want to have to put up with that for the rest of my life; God NO!

screenshot-2

After standing there for a minute completely confused, I continued my search for Kara. This house was so freaking big, it was so easy to get lost in or in this sense… lose someone. It only took me another fifteen minutes until I found Kara. She was in some dark room passed out on the couch in her sexy PJs. I’m not really sure WHY she was wearing that, or why she was sleeping on the couch, but hey… I’m not complaining. I really do hate to bother her though; she just looks so cozy over there.

screenshot-3

I walked further into the room and flipped on the switch.

“Hey sleeping beauty, rise and shine. I need to talk with you.” I chuckled.

screenshot-4

As soon as she heard my voice, she shot right up and glared at me. She didn’t even say anything at first either, she just kind of sat there and we both just hung about awkwardly.

“So, uh, why are you on the couch?” I questioned, trying to break that god awful silence.

She looked down at her PJs and then up at me, “I was sleeping in here because I can’t stand sharing a room with Persephone. She turned into some freaking monster that won’t shut up. I know we don’t get along, but god, she’s just been a hundred times worse.”

“Oh hey, I feel your pain! That chick started screaming at me in the hallway a half hour ago! All I did was brush past her and it was like all hell broke loose.” I chuckled but then grew serious, “But hey, I didn’t come in here to talk about the wicked witch… or about your sexy lingerie. I actually need to talk to you about something important.”

screenshot-5

As soon as I even mentioned what she was wearing, she jumped off the couch and ran and grabbed a shirt off the dresser.

“What do you want Ryder?! I was trying to get some sleep and you’re snooping around and taking glances at my body! Now stop perving and start talking!”

Jeez, I was just trying to compliment her. Eh, whatever…

“Well, if you’ll stop getting all frantic I’ll tell you.” I sighed.

She rolled her eyes, “Just hurry up.”

screenshot-6

“So I kind of made my choice as to who I want to live with me.” I stated.

She raised an eyebrow at me, “Yeah, I kind of already figured that out Ryder. You know, since I TOLD you can just have psycho girl.”

I shook my head, “No, I don’t want her; I want you. I know you want to make this choice so you don’t feel like I control you, but hey, it’s my choice to make not yours. I just don’t think you should stay here with James; he’s a pretty effed up man.” I rubbed my left arm, “He shoved my arms in acid when I was 15 for letting my SISTER escape. I’m not even allowed to take these off because of the horrible burns I have on my arms. Do you honestly want to stay here with this guy??”

“Maybe I do…” she muttered, turning her head away from me, “Maybe I just have my reasons.”

screenshot-7

I nearly laughed, “You’ve got to be kidding me. What kind of reason would you have to want to stay here and get tortured by that moron?” I grabbed her arm, “Come on Kara, let’s just go take a walk or something. I’m allowed a few hours out after dark; we can talk about this.”

She pulled her arm away, “There’s nothing to talk about; I told you that I’m going.”

I raised my voice, “NO, you’re NOT.”

Jeez, she’s so thick-headed! Why can’t she just listen to reason??

screenshot-8

“Don’t scream at me you idiot!” she shouted, “God, I’m so sick and tired of people trying to control my life! When do I get to have a have a break, huh?! When is it my turn to be listened too?! No matter where I go or what I try, there is always someone like YOU right there in my face telling me what to do! For god’s sake, just leave me alone! If I chose to go, why the heck would you care anyways?! You’re just like James and all those other idiots who’ve screwed up my life!”

“I just- I don’t want you to get hurt okay?” I sighed loudly, “I don’t want you to have to risk your life trying to free one of James’ men and then if you survive having to live here with him. You can just come with me and we can live in that house away from here. I promise I’m not going to torture you like James would…” I continued, “I’m sorry Kara, but I’ve made up my mind.”

screenshot-9

She growled at me and then headed for the door, “FINE THEN! I told you if you wouldn’t tell James I was the one going to the jail, that I would do it myself! I wasn’t freaking kidding when I said that Ryder!”

I tried to grab at her as she walked by, but she just shifted away from me.

“Kara come ON! You can’t just go up to James’ room! He’ll probably murder you!”

“OH WELL!” She screamed, “Guess I’m getting murdered!”

Oh for the love of GOD, what is wrong with this woman!?

screenshot-10

I chased after her and tried with all my might to get her to stop but she just wouldn’t listen. I even went as far as telling her I would tell James myself but she didn’t want to hear it. She just assumed I was telling her what she wanted to hear and then I would just tell James the total opposite. Alright she had me on that, but still, I don’t want her doing this! We’re both going to get in SO much trouble…

I groaned, “Kara come on, don’t knock on that-“

POUND! POUND! KNOCK!

Face palm!

“James, I need to talk with you right now!” Kara screeched.

We’re DEAD; we’re SO DEAD!

screenshot-11

James threw open his door and shouted, “What the HECK is the matter with you two?! How DARE you come up here and bother me while I was sleeping! I have half a mind to shoot you both!”

“Well use your other half to listen to me then!” Kara demanded, “I’m not taking orders from him, I don’t care what he wants. I’m going to be the one to go to the prison and Persephone can go live happily ever after with Ryder.”

James looked at her, “Very well then, if that’s what you want… then so be it.”

Are you kidding me?! That’s it?! He just calmly answers her?! If that was me he would have ripped me a new one and then beat the crap out of me!

screenshot-12

After he answered Kara he turned to face me.

“Don’t think you’re going to get away with this Ryder. I told you that Kara was YOUR responsibility until further notice. Since you obviously fail at watching over her, I’m blaming you for this.”

Kara groaned, “He’s not my freaking boss! Why do I even have to listen to him!?”

James shouted, “Because I freaking SAID SO! I own both of you and you listen to what I say! If I say that Ryder is in control over you, then you better bet that he’s in control! Now both of you get out of my site! If you even think of EVER playing a little charade like this again, I will kill both of you with my bare hands! Is that understood?”

Kara nodded.

“RYDER, I said is that understood!?” James boomed.

“Yeah, plenty. Now please go back in your room and put some pants on for god’s sake… I don’t need to see THAT.”

James gave me a dirty look, “Good night.” he stated and then turned and went back in his room.

screenshot-13

After James went back in his room, I turned and faced Kara.

“You’re a lunatic.” I started, “You could have gotten us both killed.”

Kara scowled, “No one said you had to follow me up here, you did that on your own.”

“Yeah, well, I would have gotten blamed for this no matter where I was. Just next time you want to call that snake out of his pit… don’t.”

She just rolled her eyes and headed for the stairs. God, I’m usually not scared of James… but I’ll admit right at this moment I was. I do things to get on his nerves, but Kara seriously violated his space and woke the monster out of his sleep. He seriously could have gone freaking crazy on both of us. She’s lucky he has plans for the both of us, or he probably would have done something. I’m still not doubting he won’t do something to me though, I know I’m going to get punished for this…

***

screenshot-14

See what did I tell!? Tonight is the night of the mission and James tells Kara and me that we have to disguise our self for the job; something about us being on the most wanted list- as if! When he said that though, I thought maybe a different outfit, I didn’t think he wanted me to get rid of my awesome peach hair! I guess normally someone wouldn’t care, but that’s the only thing linking me to my mom and I take great pride in my hair color because of that. He said it was temporary but I’m scared that he’s lying and it won’t ever come out. He said he was going to punish me, please dear god don’t let this be it.

“I look so WEIRD! God, why me…” I mumbled to myself as I glanced in the mirror.

The disguise part wasn’t the only thing James discussed with us, he also told us exactly how he wanted us to go about getting Robert out. He said he was sure this time his plan was foolproof, if we weren’t idiots and screwed it up like his other men. He told us that he had gotten in contact with Robert by sending him a letter with some code in it that he would understand. Apparently he’s supposed to play sick for a while which will give us a good excuse as to why we were there. When I said how we were going to get clearance he said he was going to take care of it. I know the guy is shifty, but how the heck is he going to get a fake doctor and nurse into the system like that?? He’s not as powerful as he thinks he is…

screenshot-15

After getting myself situated with the god-awful disguise, I went to go find Kara so we could head out soon. It’s always better to do things at night; people are tired, sometimes there is less cops on duty, and plus we can literally get lost in the darkness. But before I had the chance to go look for Kara, Adam stopped me.

“Listen…” he started, “I just want you to be careful out there tonight, alright? Don’t go off doing anything to get yourself caught. Focus on your mission, cooperate with Kara and for the love of god… keep your jokes at a minimum. No one thinks they’re funny, and a cop sure as heck isn’t going to think so either.”

I chuckled, “Oh lighten up Adam, you’ve always been a stick in the mud. You know I always get my missions done right! Kara and me will be back before you know it.”

Adam sighed, “Just… cut the crap and be safe. I’m just trying to give you good advice as your friend and as your partner.”

screenshot-16

“Dude…” I laughed, holding out my fist, “I’m gonna be alright.”

He stared at my fist awkwardly and then pounded it.

“Please don’t ever make me do that again.”

“Oh come on, I was just trying to be reassuring.” I sighed, “But fine, have it your way. Oh and I’d love to stand here and chat all night… but I kind of have a job to do. So, I’ll see you later Adam.”

He just nodded, patted me on the back and headed for the stairs. Like I’ve said before, Adam is just WAY too serious. He really needs to just loosen up! He’s become even more of a stiff neck ever since Eve kissed him last week. I know James got all over him the last time, but heck… he doesn’t honestly care about her. I say he should just go for it, he needs some womanly loving. But that’s just my opinion…

screenshot-17

After my “fun” little chat with Adam, I found Kara only a few feet away in the dining room. As soon as I saw her hair and the look on her face, the only thing I could do was just bust out laughing! Holy crap, she looks so freaking funny! I mean, blonde is a nice color… but seeing it on her just seems so… unnatural!

Kara scoffed, “You’re laughing isn’t making me feel any better you know. God, I look like Barbie threw up on me!”

I laughed, “No, you look fine! I can tell you one thing though; no one is going to recognize you as Kara the murderer/robber chick.”

She scowled at me and then just looked ahead and said nothing more. Oh come on, why is everyone so serious?? Heck, I even admitted I looked funny too! I hope she realizes it’s supposed to come off. Well hers anyways, I still think Robert gave me permanent stuff…

screenshot-18

As I was in the middle of still laughing, James came into the room.

He gave me a disgusted look, “Stop messing around RYDER! If you want to do this mission right, you’re going to have to focus every amount of attention you have. Clearly it’s limited, but still… try to focus! It’s your life on the line, not mine. If either of you get caught, you will be terminated.”

That shut me up. I guess James does have a point for once in his life; I really do need to stop messing around and focus on the mission at hand. I guess I just get like this because it’s the only way I know how to stop thinking about reality. Oh god, now I sound like Adam…

“Alright, both of you are to leave now before it gets too late. Once you arrive at the gates of the prison, you have to use your fake names I provided for you. If you don’t, there is no way you’re going to get in and you WILL get caught. Play off the part to the best of your ability and good luck to the both of you. Oh and Kara the reason for your bracelet being wrapped around your ankle is because I don’t want the officers getting suspicious as to why you both have matching ones on your wrists. So I made a custom ankle one just for you.” he pointed towards the entrance, “Alright, NOW GO!”

***

screenshot-19

We arrived at the prison about an hour after we left. I think I could have gotten there faster if Kara wasn’t telling me to slow down every five minutes. Everything about this mission had her on the edge of her seat. I guess it’s because she’s apparently so wanted all over the states that she’s afraid she’ll get caught or something. I don’t even know why I’m so wanted; I didn’t even know the cops were after me like that! Sure they’ve chased me, but I didn’t know it made me “most wanted”- Kind of neat when you think about it…

“Alright, your fake name is Jessica Wells and my fake name is Walter Echo.” I continued, “I don’t like my fake name, want to switch? I think I’m more of a Jessica.”

Kara punched me, “Shut up! I don’t have time for your idiocy. Just focus you moron.”

I chuckled, “Alright, fine. I’ll go get the guards attention and you just follow my lead.”

She took in a deep breath and then nodded her head. Well, here goes nothing…

screenshot-20

I pushed a little button on the gate and it made this loud buzzing noise. About a minute after I pressed the button, two guards came out from their little booth. They had nasty scowls on their faces and just eyed Kara and me up and down. Okay, we didn’t even do anything yet and they’re already suspicious of us!? This can’t be good…

The guard with the light brown hair opened his mouth, “Who are you and what business do you have being here?”

I cleared my throat, “Uh, well this is, uhm, nurse Wells and I’m doctor Echo. We’re here because our hospital got a call about one Robert Smith. Apparently your medical staff is having a hard time figuring out exactly what is wrong with Mr. Smith, so they called us down here so we could take a look at him.”

God I hope that sounded legit. I haven’t been nervous about this mission… until now.

“We need full names sir.” the man with the dark brown hair stated.

“Right, okay.” I gulped, “I’m Walter Echo and this uh… uhm…” Oh god how could I forget that fast?! CRAP!

Kara spoke up, “I’m Jessica Wells. Excuse the doctor; he’s been under a lot of stress lately.”

“Right!” I laughed nervously, “Lots of surgeries and what-not.”

God, we’re dead; we’re so caught because of me! I just know it…

screenshot-21

The officers eyed us again and then the dark haired cop went back to check his computer for our clearance. I can’t believe it; he actually is going to check!? I so thought we were going to be dead.

As the officer went back to check, the other police dude just kept staring at Kara and me with this nasty look on his face. I swear to god this guy doesn’t trust us at all.

“You look familiar Dr. Echo; haven’t I seen you somewhere before?” he questioned.

My eyes widened, “Well, I do perform a lot of surgeries… maybe you were a patient?”

He scoffed, “Not likely…”

CRAP; please don’t figure out who I am…

screenshot-22

Before the cop could get another word in edge wise, the other police officer came back to the front gate.

“Well…” he stated, “It seems that everything checks out with you two. It’s funny because I could have sworn our medical staff said that he just had a head cold. I never thought for a second that it could be as serious as to require outside assistance.”

“I guess sometimes one never knows what the human body will do.” I laughed nervously, as we passed by the light brown haired cop. I swear as we walked by I could just feel his eyes piercing the back of my neck. I’m glad that we don’t have to stand around him for another second because holy crap… he’s giving me the creeps.

screenshot-23

As the cop was leading us to Robert’s jail cell, I had to think of something on the spot to get Kara to separate from us. You see, my plan is to have her get to the control room somehow. When I give her the signal I want her to let all the prisoners out of their cells to cause a ruckus around here. If there is a lot of chaos, then we can easily escape with Robert. Now, thinking of a legit reason for her to go without a cop’s assistance is the fun part…

I stopped in my tracks, “Oh, uhm, officer?” I questioned, “It seems that I’ve forgotten some of my tools for this procedure. Is it alright if my nurse goes to your medical room and gets some supplies? She won’t be long.”

The officer shook his head, “It’s not a problem at all; we’ll just stop by there real fast and then head over to the jail cell.”

Crap…

Kara spoke up, “If it’s alright, I could just go by myself. I know exactly where the medical room is; I’ve been here quite a few times before. I don’t want to slow you guys down. Dr. Echo can start a diagnostic test that doesn’t require the tools and by the time I get there he’ll be half done. The quicker we figure out what’s wrong with Mr. Smith, the better… for his sake of course.”

Wow Kara, nice one.

screenshot-24

The officer stroked his chin, “You say you’ve been here before?”

Kara nodded.

“Uhm, well… alright then. I mean, if you think it will save more time that way; then go right ahead. If you do get lost, just ask one of the officers standing about, they’ll help you.”

I smirked, “Thank you officer… you’ve been a huge help.”

Jeez, I thought I was quick to think! She’s good at getting to where she needs to be, it’s no wonder how she’s most wanted and never been caught; she’s slick.

screenshot-25

As Ryder was being led by the officer to Robert’s jail cell, Kara was on a mission to find the control room. She had to go through quite a few guards patting her down and giving her dirty looks… but they couldn’t just NOT let her go through; she had clearance. It was just her luck though that the control room was right by the medical supply room… otherwise it could have been tricky.

After searching for a bit, Kara did come upon the room. There were cops surrounding the floor but only one man was working in the booth. Now all Kara had to do was find a way to get inside his head and get him when he least expected it. That shouldn’t be a problem for her, especially since it’s one of her many skills.

screenshot-26

Kara stood at the door and peered inside. She watched as a man dozed off in his chair when he was supposed to be watching the many screens in the room. Kara waited a moment for the right chance, and then knocked on the door. Without thinking the officer buzzed her in and then stood in up from his seat at the computer desk.

His eyes went wide, “Who are you? How did you get back here?”

screenshot-28

Kara began to laugh, “Oh gosh, this is the wrong room too? I’ve been searching everywhere for the medical supplies room. The officers out front told me one way but I just keep forgetting…”

The officer stared at her puzzled, “Well obviously this room has nothing to do with anything medical related; why are you REALLY here ma’am?”  

screenshot-29

Kara being as skilled as she is in manipulating people, she decided to give it all she had for this one.

Kara began to cry, “I’m so sorry; I feel so stupid. I’m just trying to find the room with the medical supplies to help save a patient. I’ve just been so tired from working 13 hour shifts. You see I have to work over-time because I have to provide for my three kids. It’s just so hard, you know?” she sniffled, “I get that you’re mad and I’m sorry I stumbled into your room… I’m just over-worked and I get so confused.”

The officer ate it up like a birthday cake.

screenshot-30

The officer walked over and tried to comfort the poor girl. His heart really went out to this single mom who was over-worked as a nurse. He completely understood how hard it was to be worked to the bone that you can’t think straight anymore.

“Hey there…” the officer cooed, “It’s alright sweet heart. You don’t have to explain yourself to me, I get it.” he continued on, “It’s an honest mistake to get confused in this giant maze; I’ll show you where the supplies room is… it’s just down the hall to the left. Come with me.”

Kara wiped away her fake tears, “Really? You’re not mad at me? Oh thank you so much. But uhm, I have a question…”

“Anything, just ask away.” The officer smiled.

screenshot-31

Kara smirked, “Are you afraid of death?”

The officer stared at her confused, “I’m not sure I understand your-“

Before the officer had the chance to finish his sentence, Kara had her hands wrapped around his neck. She may look small and fragile, but Kara was extremely strong and knew a certain way to hold her grip so even the strongest man couldn’t escape.

The man struggled to breathe and to become loose of her grasp. He even tried to reach for his gun but Kara managed to kick his arms away and finish off the job. She wasn’t only skilled with her hands, but she was skilled with her legs as well- She was like a walking lethal weapon.

screenshot-32

In a sense Kara enjoyed how easy it was to take out this man, but in another sense she was disgusted with herself for having to do it. Kara didn’t like killing people or manipulating them… but what other choice did she have? She got herself involved with this lifestyle and now she had to live it out.

“Hopefully it won’t be for that much longer…” Kara thought to herself, because there really wasn’t much more of this she could take.

***

screenshot-27

God, I hope Kara gets over there in time. This guy is leading me over to Robert pretty quickly. The only way this will work out is if she’s in that control room by the time I get to Robert’s cell.

“We’re almost there…” the officer stated, “We keep Robert in a very sealed tight cell all by himself. This side of the prison is actually where we keep all the worst criminals. I swear if that one guy, Ryder Terrey, is caught… he’ll find himself a nice cozy cell right here next to Robert.”

I nearly choked, “Right, yeah, Ryder… I heard about him, he’s one heck of a bada- err guy. He should be behind bars by now, eh?”

The officer scoffed, “You have no idea.”

Oh god, is there any cop that doesn’t know about me?! I feel like I’m walking to my doom now! Please god, let me get out of here in one piece! PLEASE Kara, get to that control room as quick as you possibly can!

screenshot-33

The officer walked me into Robert’s cell, “Well, there he is. He’s been like this for the past week, but you know how prison is… no one really gives a crap.” the officer looked around, “Say, where is that Nurse of yours anyways? She said she would be back by now right?”

I nodded my head, “Yeah, well… maybe she got stopped by another officer or she’s having a hard time with the supplies. That Kara, she’s a clumsy one.”

The officer scoffed, “Who the heck is Kara? I thought you said her name was Jessica?”

My eyes went wide and I started to panic. I can’t believe I just said her real name! What do I do now?! Before I could really freak out though, Robert kind of grabbed me closer to him and whispered “Knock him out” in my ear.

“HEY!” the officer screeched, “What did he just whisper in your ear?! Who the heck are you?!”

screenshot-34

I didn’t answer the cop. Instead I lifted my leg and spun it around as quickly as I possibly could. The end of my shoe smacked right into the guy’s jaw which sent him flying. His head crashed right into the wall and he slid down onto the floor; he was out cold… or dead. Whatever works honestly…

“I got him.” I smirked.

Robert sighed, “No duh Captain, now let’s get out of here! Where’s that skank you were talking about? Tell her to open up the main security. We’ll only have a split second to get out before everyone is alerted and the emergency lock down is put on.”

Jeez, this guy is just as snippy as James; no wonder the two get along so well.

screenshot-35

But instead of giving him lip, I just charged out of the room before the cop woke up and ran in front of one of the cameras. I waved and jumped around hoping and praying Kara was in there. To my luck the camera moved in a certain angle, as to say that she heard me.

“Thank god…” I muttered under my breath.

screenshot-36

After the signal was given, I heard a bunch of things being unlocked and a LOUD alarm went off that could be heard in every corner of that prison.

Robert shouted, “Alright, now let’s go!! We need to get out of here NOW!”

He didn’t have to tell me twice!

screenshot-37

To say escaping was hard would be a major understatement. We had to shift through countless inmates and cops! I think I took out about 5 of them and Robert took out about 10. I never saw such a crazed mob in my entire life! But we managed to finally make it to the roof. There was no way we were going to be able to get out of there from the front entrance. It doesn’t matter who you are; they’re keeping you locked in when a riot goes on inside a jail. I just have to thank god there was a ladder leading down from the roof and also that the roof wasn’t that high up.

“COME ON!” Kara screamed, “They’re onto us!”

Robert shouted, “Don’t look back; just keep going! If we don’t stop, they won’t be able to catch us.”

Oh I hope to god he’s right…

screenshot-38 

To my relief Robert was right; they weren’t able to catch us. It wasn’t because we didn’t stop running though, it’s because James planted a getaway car a few weeks back in the woods near the prison. The bonus thing about this was that Robert had the coordinates on how to get to it. I mean, I knew we were going to have to have some way to get back… but I just thought it was going to be one of those wait in the woods until Kriss comes type things. I guess there was just too much of a riot for us to be waiting around in the woods; they would probably be sending dogs out to find us! So the quicker we got back to the mansion, the better.

***

screenshot-39

We managed to get back to the mansion in record timing. I guess the fear of being chased and my life on the line… kind of gave me that extra boost to get away from there! No one followed us though; it was a clear road the whole way back. I can now understand why James lives out in the middle of nowhere. It’s so easy to get lost in, but if you know where you’re going… it’s the perfect place to hide.

As soon as we stepped foot into the mansion, Robert ran up to James. They gave each other a hug (NO CRAP, I’m so serious) and then Robert saluted him. What that was about is beyond me…

“It’s so good to have you back my friend. I am terribly sorry it took so long to free you. I could never find the right team to send in; they always failed before they got too far.”

Robert sighed, “I’m not mad at you James; you tried your best… that’s all that matters to me.”

screenshot-40

“No…” James sighed, “I should have found a way to get you out. It’s the least I owe you after-“

Robert stopped him, “No James, you don’t owe me anything. I only did what I did because you were my friend; my brother even. I’m just so glad to finally be back.” he continued, “Now, if you will excuse me… I have a fresh suit that is calling my name.”

James smiled, “I never touched your room my friend; everything is just how you left it.”

And with those words said, Robert left. Wow, just watching this reunion is starting to scare me a little. I never saw James get so touchy with anyone or ANYTHING for that matter. How do they even know each other?

screenshot-41

After Robert had left the room, James came up to me. Oh lord; I can only imagine what he’s going to say to me.

“Well done Ryder.” he stated and then patted my shoulder, “You did an excellent job; I have a new respect for you now.”

SAY WHAT?! He… respects me!? Okay, I’ve done countless jobs for this monster… why does rescuing Robert make me a special person all of a sudden? Who is he and WHY did he want him out so badly?

“Thanks, I guess.” I looked over at Kara who looked kind of upset. I guess she’s just thinking about what comes next. You know what I’m thinking about? That James needs to give her some recognition too. She risked her life as well; she doesn’t deserve to be kept here and to be tortured by him.

screenshot-42

I sighed, “Well, I’m glad that you’re all happy, creepy man, but what about Kara? She risked her life to get your crazy friend out of jail too. Why don’t you thank her by letting her come with me? Hey, if it makes it any better… just take Persephone in her place. I say it’s an even swap.”

Kara glanced away, “Ryder, please… don’t.”

“No Kara, I think you deserve a heck of a lot better treatment than this!”

James laughed, “You do? But why? Why would you think that this pathetic woman deserves any praise? She was trying to steal from me; I don’t think she deserves a thanks at all. She’s still paying for doing wrong to me. She’s worthless Ryder, she means nothing to me; neither of them do.”

“Then if they mean nothing to you let me keep them with me! I mean Persephone is whiny but I don’t really think she deserves to be, you know, killed or something…”

Did that just come out of my mouth?? Wow, Adam really IS getting to me…

screenshot-43

James scowled, “Ryder, my word is my word! I said that you pick one and that was it. I don’t care if you’re developing feelings for either one of them! You need to think with your head and not your dick! Oh yeah, I know what you did with that Persephone woman.” he growled,“When you gain power it’s not about feelings, it’s about control! I thought you were ready for this, I thought you had what it took to not give a crap about anyone. You think this job is just a joke huh? You think because you have power you can do whatever you want?!” he scoffed, “You need to think again Ryder. Just because I’m giving you an inch it doesn’t mean you take a foot.”

I know he just said a mouthful, but all I can keep thinking about is that he knows I had sex with Persephone. Oh god, please don’t tell me he saw the footage. My face is starting to burn just thinking about it. So instead of just replying with a smart comment, I just nodded my head.

“Now, I did warn you earlier that you were to be punished for allowing Kara any room to do as she pleased. For that, I’m making you wait another 2 weeks here in this mansion. You’ll be doing labor work from the crack of dawn until the sun sets. Do I make myself clear?”

I sighed, “Yeah… pretty freaking clear.”

“Alright, now both of you be gone from my sight!”

***

screenshot-44

Since I had to wait two weeks, that meant that Adam had to wait and so did Persephone. James worked me to the bone just like he promised. I had to wake up at 5:30 am and I wasn’t allowed to stop until like… midnight. I honestly couldn’t even see straight during these last few days. I’m just SO glad that tomorrow is finally the day we all get to leave out of this house. I mean, I’m happy about it… but then at the same time I feel sick to my stomach. I just can’t believe James won’t let me take Kara with me. I have no idea what he’s going to do to her but thinking about it makes me want to throw up.

As I was laying there with my eyes closed and my thoughts wandering, I heard footsteps come into my room and then I felt a hand grab my ankle. Before I had the chance to react, I was yanked out of bed and landed right on my butt! DARN IT! I swear to god I’m going to kick Kriss’ butt! It’s not FUNNY!

screenshot-45

“Wake up RYDER!” Persephone screamed. Okay, that’s not Kriss… obviously. God, what does SHE want?! What could I have possibly done wrong in my sleep?!

Adam sighed, “Oh god, what the heck!? I’ve told you guys before, I’m only partly deaf! I can freaking hear you two when you fight in the middle of the night!!”

I groaned, “Persephone, what in god’s name did I DO now?! You people need to stop yanking me off that bunk; freaking bruising up my butt!”

screenshot-46

“You think I care about your butt!?” Persephone screeched, “What about my rear huh!? What about my hips and my boobs and my stomach! Oh lord, my stomach! It’s going to be RUINED!”

I stood to my feet, “THE HECK!?! What are you insane or something?! You woke me up to cry about your body getting ruined!? Persephone, you probably had a nightmare. Your hooker days are still bright and shiny with you and your butt. Now can I go back to bed?!”

screenshot-47

“Stop making jokes RYDER!” Persephone stated, pointing a finger at me, “This is REAL and it’s all your fault!”

“Oh my lord, what? Huh Persephone? What is my fault? Why did you have to come in here and yank me out of my bed? Please enlighten me you crazy woman.”

screenshot-48

“You really want to know?” She scoffed.

“NO! Oh god no, don’t tell me now Persephone! Why would I want to know?!” I rolled my eyes, “Stop asking stupid questions and just TELL ME!”

Adam sighed, “I agree, please just get it over with. I’m so tired…”

“Alright then…” she narrowed her eyes at me, “You got me pregnant you dumb MORON! Happy now?! You ruined my career as I know it!”

screenshot-49

My stomach dropped. Uhm, what did she just say??

“You’re joking right?” I laughed nervously, “I didn’t really- I mean I thought we-“

“Stop trying to deny it Ryder! I’m late and I’ve been feeling like crap! I’m pretty sure that’s enough of a sign right there. Just know, I’m NOT taking care of this thing and you’re going to pay BIG time for doing this to me!”

Adam groaned, “Oh you dumb idiot, you slept with her?! Wonderful, a baby is just what we need!”

Uh oh…

***

screenshot-50

A picture of ‘Dr. Echo’ was captured during the riot. The photo was analyzed and it turned out to be Ryder Terrey. The photo was given to authorities’ right away. Qiana and Phoenix just shook their heads in shame at their nephew. How could he release the man that nearly killed his mother? Better yet, does he even realize what he’s done? Qiana and Nix felt a sense of déjà vu when they found out who escaped from the prison. Nix knew what Robert said all those years ago… but he just couldn’t believe it had finally come to the light.

“I’ll never tell you who I’m working for! Oh, also, just let Noah know… this isn’t over. He’s going to pay and pay hard for messing with us. You’re all going to pay!”

Whelp, Ryder and Kara helped Robert escape. That’s probably the worst thing Ryder could have ever done. Now that that man is out, there is no telling what they’re going to do. If only Ryder knew who he really was and what he did to his mom. Oh and Persephone is NOT happy about her expecting baby! 

About Jax

"My fake plants died because I did not pretend to water them." - Mitch Hedberg
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Chapter 7.8 – Déjà vu

  1. Oops! Ryder, you messed up big time. Twice. You got yourself caught on camera, AND got a girl pregnant! ON, the other hand, i cant wait to see me some Ryder babies! ^_^ Also, feel better! I have a really bad cold, an everytime I sneeze or cough it feels like im blowing my brains out! ^_^’

    • Jax says:

      Lol when does Ryder never mess up something eh? ^_^’ He’s always asking for trouble. Oh gosh, me too! I’m so excited to see what this baby looks like! Thanks, I’ve been feeling pretty lousy lately ;-; Sigh sigh sigh. You get better too. ❤ Colds stink.

  2. ERMAGERSH! Nuuuu Kara! I’m with you, Ryder. I don’t want her to die D: But you definitely showed she can take care of herself. That scene had badass written all over it. And I especially loved the way you showed her dislike for killing, though.

    Oh I KNEW she was going to end up pregnant! The moment they had sex! D: These are quite possibly the worst conditions to have a baby under! The bright side is it’ll be one CUTE baby.

    Was that a hint about Noah? Is he actually alive?! James said it wouldn’t be the end for Noah. If he had been killed, then he definitely would’ve seen the end a while ago.

    I can’t wait for the next chapter, but get better, soon! Being sick sucks.

    • Jax says:

      I know, I know! I agree with Ryder too on this one; Kara should have went with him. But why didn’t she is the thing… Phew, I’m glad I portrayed her alright. I was trying to make her as close as possible to what you had for her. I remember her bio saying she didn’t like it but she knew how to do it and would not hesitate. So I tried to show all of that.

      Yup yup! They were really careless when they did that, it was bound to happen. Oh my lord, you got that right! That poor child… I KNOW! Persephone and Ryder mixed together… it’s gonna be adorable!

      Well, that saying was Nix remembering what Robert said to him all those years ago. About how they were all going to pay for what they did. As in Nix, Ana and Noah were gonna pay. Apparently Noah already paid and as far as Ana and Nix… well they have to hunt down their own nephew to possibly KILL. That’s HARD as anything.

      Me too, I want to get more chapters out for you guys 🙂 And thanks ;-; I hate being sick.

  3. Tawny says:

    This story is getting so complex 😀 It’s making things so much more interesting!

    *chants* KARA KARA KARA KARA *chants* I love this chick. She’s so in control. I know she’s going to stay at the mansion but im pretty sure we will see more of her…hopefully 🙂

    Ryder makes me laugh! I know I don’t always agree with him but I will always love his sarcastic sense of humor 😀

    Persephone and Ryder baby/ies? Cute cute cute! 😉 but boy…i fear for the kid(s) xD

    • Jax says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it 😀 I know, trust me, it racks my brain to no end. I always have to make sure everything is described correctly so no one gets confused 🙂

      Right? Me too. She’s awesome ^^’ Maybe 😉

      Hah, same here. I always love a good laugh and I always get it through him xD He’s a nut.

      I know! I can’t wait to see the baby!! SO going to be adorable! Oh I know O_O That poor baby…

  4. meginthebox says:

    SHE’S PREGNANT!! I’m excited. I kinda love Peresphone and I’m happy she’s helping bring in generation 8! Though I’m not sure this is a very stable family to be born into… But yay, DRAMA! But it’s probably a good thing Peresphone is going with Ryder, I can’t imagine what James would do with the baby.

    Kara just keeps getting better and better. I love how you made it so she didn’t accept being chosen, it just makes me wonder more how that’s all going to be resolved, because I’m sure Ryder isn’t going to leave her all alone. Maybe another wicked break-out scene? Gaahh I can’t wait to find out.

    I miss Noah. Me thinks he isn’t dead though…

    I said I wasn’t going to ask. But you’re just so experienced and great at writing stories! Sooo… if you ever are horribly bored and want to critique something an amateur has produced, I just started a legacy thingy. Tis here: http://etherealfootsteps.wordpress.com/ But you read, like, A TON of legacies so I get that you probably don’t have time.

    • Jax says:

      Oh I’m right with you, I’m hype as anything about this new baby coming. I can’t wait to see what he or she looks like. I already have a name picked out for a girl and a boy. I’ve been prepared for quite some time now for this moment ^_^ I’m getting excited just thinking about it again hehe. I’m happy she is too! She’s such a firecracker! But really, this child is being born under a terrible time. Ryder doesn’t know how to take care of a baby, Adam doesn’t know and Persephone said she’s not helping. She’s not really the motherly type eh? Ryder is only 21, he’s a couple years younger than Noah was when he first became a dad. True! So True! No baby has been born under these crazy circumstances, that’s for sure. It is a good thing that she is going with him, Ryder would be scared half to death of what would happen to his unborn child in the hands of Persephone and James. Remember, Ryder has a soft spot for family.

      I know, I’m in love with her character, she’s just so amazing to work with. Well of course, that would just make things too simple 😉 I like giving a little mystery to things. You’ll see how it’s going to go down, not saying it will be pretty though…

      I miss Noah and Ryan and Sam<3

      Me? Experienced? Naaaah, no way. I'm the amateur over here. I sometimes look at my writing and go "O_o Ew…" Lol. So I always try to make up for it by taking good pictures. Of course I'll check it out, as a matter of fact I just caught up on all my stories in my inbox. Oh you have no idea… ._. I really do read a buttload LOL But I enjoy it ^_^' I have time. Esp. since I'm sick-y… bleh.

  5. Hayley says:

    Oh wow O.O I love this. Just love this. What’s gonna happen now that his picture has been seen?! Oh god, what’s Robert going to do? O.O AHHHH
    Ryder and Kara look so funny with different hair XD It’s not right! lmao
    That baby is going to be adorable… AH! ❤

    • Jax says:

      Thank you, I’m glad you’re loving it! 😀 Well, they already know that Ryder is on the loose but now they have more of a connection to who he’s working for. They have to dig deep into the past to try and see what in the world is going on. Oh you’ll see why James needed him…

      LOL I thought so too! I kept giggling at them. But it was only a disguise ^^ Ryder’s fear never came true; it came out.

      Yup! So totally going to be adorable!

      • Hayley says:

        You’re just a fantastic story teller.
        I was really aggravated at WordPress because I got the e-mail notification that you posted, but when I went to check my reader it wasn’t there.

      • Jax says:

        Awwww *blush* Thanks, that means a lot to me. :3

        Yeah that’s why I don’t use the reader anymore. I’ve been using my e-mail to get updates for over a year now. It’s a wonderful way to keep them organized.

  6. jaec52609 says:

    whelp shes prego..theres the 1st child for this gen.

    dnt u mean james gave him permanent stuff? (after tht pic of ryder laughin at kara)

    was tht cop nix in disguise?

    well maybe when she holds the baby she’ll want to change

    • Jax says:

      Yup yup, I’m excited 🙂

      Did I say Robert or something? Argh, I don’t know why I keep mixing them up! They don’t even have similar names ._. I must of had to delete Robert for the spot of James like 10 times. My brain ain’t thinking straight… I did mean James, yes.

      LOL no, not Nix. It was just a cop who took his job too seriously XD

      Maybe… or maybe not…

      • jaec52609 says:

        i cant wait 2 see the baby 😀

        lol u probably had robert on ur mind writin it…it happens

        it was a dark photo so i thought it mightve been cuz i could make out the hair style nd the scars on his face

        she’ll pop out the baby nd run away…i wonder how ryder is gunna save Kara since james wont let ryder take them both? i wonder wat james is gunna do when he finds out about the baby…..*bites nails* im worried now cuz james might try 2 get tht baby terminated 2 get 2 ryder more, or since ryder doesnt want a baby with her he’ll let the baby go full term

  7. deathcullen says:

    Ohh a baby is on the way!! It will probably look so adorable but I fear for what it might have to go through!! God Persephone gets on my nerves! I swear I could just imagine her voice in my head screaming at me! O__O
    His beautiful peach hair!! I’m glad it is back! The brown didn’t suit him! And speaking of Ryder he messed up big time! Getting Persephone pregnant ad getting caught on the camera!! Shame shame shame!! Well I hope you feel better! I’m just lucky to have power after hurricane Isaac!

  8. kokobo63 says:

    I really don’t like Persephone. She is a queen “b”. I wish that Kara was going with them instead. I feel sorry for the baby. I was wondering when & how you were gonna get the next generation started. Oh well, at least Adam is responsible. If worse comes to worse, he can raise the child. I certainly wouldn’t count on either Ryder or Persephone doing it. I’ve been debating on starting my own Sims story, but I’m not sure. I tried once, but it was a lot more work then I expected. You can’t really “play” the game when you’re taking so many pictures. You’re basically just setting the scene. If I do decide to do it, I’ll probably just have one or 2 days out of the week to take pics & write. The rest of the time, it’s play time! Just curious, how long does it take for you to get each chapter out (in hours), approximately? And do you spend time just playing the game, or do you just use it for writing stories?

    • Jax says:

      LOL she is that. She’s not afraid to speak her mind that’s for sure. Aw, Ryder’s a little off his rocker right now but he’s actually sweet under all that. He has a serious soft spot for family, so you’d be surprised what he’s actually capable of.

      Well, it takes me about 4-5 hours to set the scenes, get pictures and what-not. Then it probably takes me four hours to write it out. It really depends on how much in the chapter I did. Like if I did a lot of staging or a little bit of staging. Ryder’s generation knocks me through a loop. It’s really touchy with all the different scenes. So you are correct, it is time consuming. Ah, I don’t play for-fun on my Rained save. I use my ISBI save or my fun to save to just goof around on sims. 🙂

  9. Morgan says:

    Haha that was the best way to bring a child in the generation. I wonder how Ryder’s kid is going to grow up with parent like that and stuck in James control. Maybe the awesome double agents twins will rescue it before something bad happens to it. Well now that i think about it, Ryder wouldn’t be that bad of a parent, he really is a nice guy underneath all that crazy.

    I so like Kara a thousand times better than Persephone, as a person for Ryder. The first thing she said about being pregnant to Ryder was her body was going to get jacked up. Well i got news for you sweet checks it takes two to do the tango. Oh gosh I can’t wait for the kid to be born.

    So Roberts out of jail? Fudge. This is just going to get a thousand times worse with James AND Robert. Good thing Robert,Adam and BABY:) will be out of the house soon.
    Great chapter as always 😀

  10. Morgan says:

    Robert? I meant Ryder, I have no excuse as to why I said Robert

  11. toyinroxx123 says:

    Gahh! So glad that James didn’t kill them.

    Oooooh, Ryder looks so different! He actually looks good like that ^-^ N’awwwwwwwwww, Adam ❤

    Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo ;_________; Ryder, whywhywhywhy did you save Nip?! btcbeym yx!

    o.O Persephone's preggo…

    • Jax says:

      Yeah, same here. O.O

      LOL I thought so too secretly 😉 I mean, in Ryder’s mind he’d think he looks weird but I thought he actually pulled off the black hair 😀 He can work it. I knows, I love Adam to bits! Gah<3

      Because he voulenteered for it. *shakes at him* He had to do it. ;-;

      Yup! Baby number one on the way 😉 I've seen his baby 😀 Completely adorable!

  12. TosinRox says:

    i want ryder to become a good guy again!! these stories are good but i just wish there was a silver lining 😥

  13. jaec52609 says:

    where is the freakin LOVE button? cuz like just doesnt justify ur writing

  14. Okay… Lemme see if I can conjure up a worthy enough comment for a post such as this… Deep down I was hoping that Ryder and Kara would get caught on this mission, and then that would be their ticket to getting away from James. Then I realized that it wouldn’t make any sense, and Ryder would be killed if that happened. Wait! James is capable of acting civilized with someone? Its a miracle!!! I are upset that Robert has been released from prison! *starts grumbling*

    Persephone is pregnant…? Great… She can’t blame the whole thing on Ryder!!! She initiated it! I know that Ryder has the family oriented trait, so I think he will do an okay job with the baby. And I think that Adam would be a big help, if not to help Ryder, at least to raise the kid the right way.

    Excellent chapter Jax! Hope everything works out for both Ryder and Kara.

    • Jax says:

      Right, if they did that would be the end of Kara and Ryder as we know it. That would make me very sad ;-; LOL yeah, but why is he so… “normal” around him. It makes you wonder who this man is to him and how they met.

      Yup, pregnant Ladeh ;O Hah, I was thinking the same thing. But honestly, it’s Persephone… she’s gonna blame Ryder! Of course. 🙂 Ryder isn’t completely horrible but he is in need of some serious help. Saying he’ll do okay is probably the right term to use ^^ Let’s hope he can do better though eh? 🙂

      Oh yes, Adam will be a big help. He has a gentle spirit. Well, when he’s not being grumpy of course.

      Thank you Nate! 🙂

  15. Jax! Argh I’m so sorry for not keeping touch with you within all your previous chapters! 😦 Everything is so chaotic right now I barely had any time to even get online. I hope you can forgive me? 😦 I’ve glanced over the chapters I’ve missed out on, and I will definitely by keeping touch from now on!

    I love the suspense you’re giving between Ryder and Kara..
    Wonderful dialogue, and the scenery and environment was amazing too.

    • Jax says:

      Aw, I was about to “tsk tsk” you but, sad face, hope everything is okay! D: Also no need to worry at all! Keep up with the chapters whenever you have the chance; they’ll always be here ^_^ ❤

      Aw, I'm glad you're enjoying what I do have so far ^^ Makes me happy. Thanks for that too! 😀 I do try my very best to make sure things look nice 🙂

  16. Becki says:

    Well, it seems like Ryder is leaning towards Kara in the long run, but I’m still kinda routing for Persephone! Hopefully she’s just being a b**ch because she’s in a rather stressful situation, and they’ll find some middle ground in the coming pregnancy months =D

    But argh! ‘NIP’ is back! Ryder, what have you done?!

    • Jax says:

      Ehhh, we’ll see how things turn out in the long run 😉 One never does know. Persephone is rather blunt though about how she feels. She’s really looking out for numero uno.

      Only if he knew! D:

  17. I knew she was expecting, I kinda skipped ahead and saw a boy with hair like Persephone and now when they you know did it I had a feeling! Yay! 🙂 ❤ 🙂

Leave a Reply

