Chapter 8.6 – Keep Away

Author’s note: I apologize if this chapter is a little touchy towards the end.

screenshot1

Val’s Point Of View

Hands trembling, I turned the doorknob to Isa’s room and exited quietly. I had finally gotten Isa to fall asleep; which I’ll admit, wasn’t the easiest thing to do. She was clinging onto me for dear life and her body was shaking ungodly. I honestly felt really bad for her. I really can’t imagine what was going on inside of her head.

On the other side of her door Daniel was standing there patiently. I know he was waiting for me to say something because he just stood there giving me a look that was begging for an answer. I had one for him, but I wasn’t exactly sure how I should even ask it. Isa was his patient… but I felt like she shouldn’t be anymore.

“Well?” He questioned, his arms folded across his chest.

“I don’t know.” I shrugged, “I just- I don’t- I feel like she needs me.”

He rose an eyebrow, “What does that mean?”

screenshot-2

I swallowed, “I feel like Isa needs me – as her doctor, I mean.” I rubbed the back of my neck hesitantly. Asking another doctor for their patient, was like asking for a butt load of money or asking him to give me his house. Doctors were very attached to the people they helped and giving one over to another doctor was just not easy. Plus, Daniel was my boss. I may like messing with people and getting in their heads, but I really didn’t want to lose this job. So I needed to stay on this guys good side.

He almost chuckled, “Val, come on. I’m perfectly capable of handling Jolin. I’ve been her doctor since she was a little girl.”

“Sir, I wouldn’t ask this if I didn’t think it was necessary. I just… I feel like we have a connection; I feel like I could really make a huge change in her. But I need to have the permission of being her doctor before I could really do anything. Seeing her for random sessions isn’t enough – she needs me.”

screenshot-3

He scoffed, turning on his heel. “Forget it Val. It’s not possible for a doctor to switch over a patient with this level of severity to an amateur.”

“Wait!” I shouted, “I know I can do this!

screenshot-4

He turned, facing me once again.

“It’s not about if you can do this or not Val. I just told you it’s not allowed. Even if I wanted to hand Jolin-”

“Isa.” I corrected.

Jolin.” He hissed, “Over to you… there is just no possible way for it to happen.”

screenshot-5

“I’m sure if you talked to someone or just signed a few papers-”

screenshot-6

“No!” He flared up, his nostrils raging, “So just drop it. Jolin is my patient and there is no way for you to have her. So please, Val, just leave it alone.”

He once again turned from me and started to walk away.

“I’m going to find a way.” I spat, “I’m going to have her as my patient and there is no way that you’re going to stop me.”

screenshot-7

He grinned lightly, chuckling to himself, “Yeah, we’ll see about that. Go home Val, get some sleep. You could use it.”

***

screenshot-8

Days had passed since that encounter with Daniel. Every day after work I would bury myself in books trying to find a reason as to why I couldn’t be her doctor. What gave him the right to be her authority? She’s a patient, not some kind of item to be possessed.

I scattered through page after page; book after book. My room was starting to look as though it belonged to a rapist serial killer. I was so obsessed with finding the right answer to all of this; I didn’t care how long it took. Isa needed to be with me. I needed to be the one to help her through all of this. She’s important to me.

screenshot-9

Logan knocked slightly, before entering into the bedroom. “Val?” She questioned.

I didn’t even look up. I just stayed focused on what was in front of me.

“Val? I know you hear me.” She sighed, “You’ve been up here for hours; you slave over that paperwork for days and days at a time. I feel like I don’t see you anymore.”

screenshot-10

I took a deep breath before speaking.

“I need to do this Logan. I need to get together a report to give to the higher up. Isa deserves a doctor who is actually able to help her. Daniel has been her doctor since she was a kid and she has made like zero progress.”

“What makes her so special?” She wobbled back and forth on her heels like a small child. “I mean, I’m just curious is all. I’ve never seen you so passionate about a patient before. Most of the time you just tell me how much they amuse you. But… you actually care deeply for this one, huh?”

screenshot-11

I shrugged my shoulders. “I’m just trying to do what’s right.”

I mean, I guess you could say that was partly true. I wanted to do right by Isa, yes, but… I don’t know. It’s just something I can not fathom; something I can not explain. It’s like I have a NEED to be there for her; to make her happy once more. She’s the only person who has ever really challenged my intellect.

She nodded, her hands folded behind her back, “As long as you don’t stress yourself out trying too hard… then I support you completely. You know I love you Val and I only want the very best for you.”

She walked over to me, leaned over and kissed the top of my head. I looked up at her, our eyes meeting one another. I saw the pain falling from her eyes, like a pleading child trying to understand what was happening around her.

She’ll never fully understand.

“I love you too, Logan.”

***

screenshot-12

Three weeks had gone by and I had finally gotten all I needed to build my report against Daniel. Even though I felt confident in what I had, I was still nervous to make the phone call to schedule my appointment with the higher up. I know, it’s unheard of for me, of all people, to be nervous… but this was actually really important to me; this actually… mattered.

A receptionist answered the phone and it felt like my heart had fallen to the depths of my stomach. I hadn’t even responded yet, and I already felt like I couldn’t do it.

“Hello?” She said once more, a tinge of annoyance in her voice.

“Hi.” I managed to choke out.

screenshot-13

The phone conversation between me and the woman went rather smoothly after my rather embarrassing outburst. I decided to push aside my stupidity and actually get done what I needed to.

“So there is an open appointment time today because of a cancellation?” I repeated what the woman on the other end had just spoken.

“Yup!” She exclaimed, “Is that okay with you, Dr. Terrey?”

I know I’m a doctor, and I have been a doctor for a few years now, but just hearing people call me that is still so very weird.

“Uhm, yes. Sure. That’s perfect.”

“Okay!” She gleamed over the phone, “I’ll put you down than; see you at 5!”

And that was the last thing she said before the line went dead and an automated survey system started to play. What? No good-bye? Rude.

screenshot-14

Before leaving, I gathered up all of my needed information and jumped into my car. I’ll admit, while driving, my hands were shaking. So yeah, it was very hard to grip onto the steering wheel.

“Come on, Val!” I shouted at myself, “Stop being such a wimp.”

Not long after my one-sided argument, I had arrived at the main office building. I entered into the elevator and pressed for the 4th floor. Once the doors to the elevator had opened up, I stepped outside of it nearly dropping my folder of documents. I managed to shake it off and continue walking down a narrow hallway until I reached the only door there.

I knocked on the wooden frame in front of me. A voice from the other side emitted a strained ‘Come in’.

Well… this is it.

screenshot-15

A young man, no more than 35, was sitting at his desk waiting patiently.

“Hello.” He greeted me, “I assume you are-” He checked his file, “Val Terrey?”

I nodded my head, “Yes, that’s me.”

“What brings you to my office today, Val?”

screenshot-17

I took in a deep breath, approaching his desk. I lowered my file of documents, placing it gently in front of him.

I pointed to the file, “I’ve put together a report as to why I now see it fit that the patient known as Lurker, Jolin, be transferred over to my care. I feel as that being under Dr. Brewer’s care has really shown no progress. She has been his patient since she was of a very small age and yet there has been little to no change at all.” I continued on, “The doctor has also stated to me that it was impossible for me to get Jolin switched over to me and said I was an “amateur”. He also inadvertently hinted a threat. I feel, that even if he is a good doctor, he’s not fit to be the doctor of this particular patient.”

screenshot-16

He listened intently to what I had said. After I was finishing speaking, he looked through the file I had placed on his desk… not muttering a word. After about twenty minutes of reading, he looked back up at me.

“Dr. Brewer disapproves of this switch to be made under accusations that you are an unfit doctor? Or, as you said, not trained well enough? I don’t understand how that can be his top accusation but it shows here, under hospital record, that you are her part time counselor. He trusts you enough to have her around and for you to speak to her as a professional doctor, I do not see why you cannot be switched over to have her as a permanent patient.” He took a deep breath, flipping through a few pages, “Dr. Brewer has been Miss Lurker’s doctor since she was eleven years old, according to record, but there is proof of literally close to zero change in her mental stability.”

screenshot-18

He opened up his laptop, beginning to type some things onto the computer.

“So, what does this all mean?” I asked, hesitantly waiting for his reply.

“It means, that I’m going to give you a 90-day trial run having her as your patient. If there is any positive changes in Miss Lurker’s stability, she will be under your care permanently.” He glanced up at me from under his glasses, “One screw up and she goes right back to Brewer, understood?”

screenshot-19

I nodded, a grin starting to make it’s way across my face.

“Of course, sir. I understand completely.”

***

screenshot-20

Saturday is the day I went into the head office, Monday I returned to work. I had a pep in my step when I entered that building. I honestly could not wait until I saw Isa. I was finally going to get my chance to work with her all the time and not just for scheduled appointments. She was my patient now and there was nothing that was going to ruin my mood.

I felt a tug on my arm, “TERREY!” The voice screamed, tightening his grip on my arm.

Oh. Oh, I knew this was coming…

screenshot-21

“You have some freaking nerve, you know that?!” He boomed, his voice echoing down the hallway. “How DARE you go behind my back like that? I told you to leave Jolin alone! She’s MY patient.”

“Was.” I corrected him, “She was your patient, but now she is mine.”

He laughed, “Oh, not if I have anything to say about it. You’re going to wish you never messed with me, Val. And to think, I went out of my way to give you extra patients so you could broaden your work experience. That I helped you and put up with all of your stupid crap when you were an intern.” He shot me a glare, “You’re really going to be sorry about this.”

screenshot-22

I turned away from him, showing signs of distress. As if I really cared what he thought of me or my taking of Isa. I looked up to this man for quite some time, but now I see how much of a joke he really is. He gets by on his status at the hospital and how long he’s been here. He’s a freaking quack.

“I’m sorry, Daniel.” I protested, “But I needed to do this. Isa is a very important patient to me; there is just something special about her. I want to help her get better and see the world more clearly.”

Okay, I wasn’t lying about any of that. But I sure as heck wasn’t serious about being sorry – not to this loser.

He scoffed, “Just you wait Val, just you wait.”

And with that, he left.

***

screenshot-23

After doing my rounds with my other patients, making sure they were all up to par, I made my way over to Isa.

I knocked on her door before entering in.

“Isa?” I questioned. She was standing by the window, staring off into the distance. “Isa, are you alright?”

screenshot-24

She looked down, “I just wish people didn’t see me as a freak. I’m not a freak, I understand things.”

I looked at her puzzled, “What do you mean, Isa?”

“People always think I’m just some little baby. But, I’m not, Vally. I know things. I was always told my number was five, but I’m not that number. I know my number is better than that!”

Her number? There she goes again mentioning that number.

“Isa, do you mean your age? You know that you’re not five?”

She looked up at me, her eyes gleaming, “Yes! Yes! You understand me, Vally. You know the word for it. My… age.”

screenshot-25

After a moment of realization, her face grew serious once more.

“I don’t want anyone to think of me like this anymore, Vally.” she stepped closer to me, “I may not be the smartest girl in the world, but I know I’m not stupid.”

“Of couse not, Isa. No one should ever make you feel like you are.” I said, lifting up her chin. “You’re a very smart girl.”

screenshot-26

She nearly cried, wrapping her arms around me.

“You always make me feel okay; you always make me feel like I don’t have to be afraid.” She pulled back from me, staring me in the eyes, “You know, I really am smart, Vally. I know how to do a lot of things; things a person needs, even.”

screenshot-27

She was inches from my face.

“Needs?” I repeated what she had said.

She nodded, biting her lip slightly. She then leaned into my ear and whispered, “I know what a… man needs.”

I swallowed, hard. This was a side I had never seen of her before. Why was she doing this; what was she trying to prove?

screenshot-28

She stared at me for a moment more, before pressing her lips against mine. She wrapped herself around me tight; so tight I felt like I couldn’t breathe. Her eyes were closed shut, pinching together very firmly. Inside I tried to struggle away, inside I was screaming for this not to be happening. She was my patient and I was her doctor. She was the only one I ever cared for and for that reason-

screenshot-29

-it made it that much harder to pull away. I knew in the back of my mind that this was wrong; SO wrong, in fact. I didn’t want to continue, I wanted to just let go and stop what I was doing. But every impulse in my body shut down and just continued to kiss her anyway. Her lips against mine, her body against mine… it just… felt so right. I have been with Logan for so long and I have never felt this heat, this… this… passion.

screenshot-30

Our bodies swayed together forming a perfect connection. We moved around aggressively until at one point one of our arms hit the light switch and knocked out the power. It didn’t interrupt us though; nothing could interrupt us.

I moaned, my tongue finding it’s way inside of her mouth. I wiggled it around freely, stroking the roof of her mouth. Isa clenched me tighter, her grip forming around my neck. We kept kissing and kissing, rubbing against one another… until she pushed me.

screenshot-31

It wasn’t the type of push I was expecting though. No, it was a push to further it more. Instead of pushing me away, saying that she was scared, she pushed me to the ground and climbed on top of me. She rubbed her hands up and down my thighs, running her lips across the side of my neck. I could feel my body radiating heat… wanting nothing more than to have her body.

No Val, stop it! My brain screamed out in agony, This isn’t right.

I continued to ignore it, pushing it further and further away.

screenshot-32

She pulled away from me, both of us just staring intently at one another. She leaned into my ear, whispering, “I want you. I want you, now.”

I wanted to refuse. I wanted to SO badly.

Refuse Val, stop while you can!

Yet once more, I ignored it

screenshot-33

It happened so fast.

At one moment we were lost in each other, her on top of me making me scream out in ecstasy. Her naked body glistening against the small light that seemed to overwhelm the room. And the next, I was hurrying to put my pants back on, ashamed at what had been done.

I clasped my hands over my face, “No, no! This didn’t happen; this wasn’t supposed to happen!”

Isa, still on the floor, began to wrap herself with her clothes. She then looked up at me, confusion spread across her features.

“What’s wrong? Was I not good enough?”

screenshot-34

“What? No.” I shook my head, “I mean, this wasn’t right, Isa. We weren’t supposed to do this. I’m your doctor. I don’t… I don’t know why this happened! I can’t be here right now, I’m sorry. I just- I have to go.”

“No, please!” She begged, “I’m sorry. I… I don’t understand!” She reached out towards me, her expression gripping at the over whelming guilt I already felt.

screenshot-35

“I can’t stay here!”

I ran from the room. I just… I couldn’t stare at her anymore. I just couldn’t. I needed to breathe; I needed to be away from that look on her face.

screenshot-36

That look… of such horrible pain.

**

Thanks for reading guys! I hope everyone enjoyed this chapter, even if it was a little touchy >.<

About Jax

"My fake plants died because I did not pretend to water them." - Mitch Hedberg
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Chapter 8.6 – Keep Away

  1. straycat says:

    Yaaayyy new chapteerr!! *squeals* and an interesting one on top of that!
    I wonder if Daniel is somehow connected to Isa’s past..

  2. TinyPiglet says:

    Wow, what a chapter! I agree with straycat, I get the feeling Daniel and Isa are connected somehow. It’s the eyes that get me thinking
    That end scene makes me think also, she obviously cares for Val in her own way but would she really do something like that on her own? What I mean is it’s made clear how much Daniel wants Isa as his patient and probably knows if something happens, something that shouldn’t happen between doctor and patient he can get Isa back as his patient. He strikes me as a man who would stop at nothing to get what he wants.
    Hope I am not rambling too much, just wanted to get my thoughts out there.

    • Jax says:

      Well thank you very much! 🙂 Daniel and Isa do have a past, yes. But we’ll see if it means anything. Hehe. And you’re not rambling! I love long comments; they’re my favorite kind! ;-D Daniel is a man to stop at nothing, that much is clear. And you’re right, Isa does care for Val in her own way… but something like this? It’s just… off.

  3. LuxRayne says:

    New chapter! 😀 And all I can say is woooow Val you really screwed up. XP I’m pretty sure Isa didn’t really /want/ to do that either, she just did what she thought would make him happy because she felt she was supposed to. And Daniel… something is really not right with him. :/

    • Jax says:

      Wow! Your view on this is entirely accurate! I’m actually really impressed. He so did… and just wait until my next chapter. It’s a doozy XD No? I guess we’ll see, eh? 😉

  4. Morgan says:

    Is it just me or do Daniel and Isa have the same eyes??😳

  5. autumnrein says:

    Such an awesome chapter Jax! I can’t wait to see what Daniel’s roll with Isa is, unless he knew that she would try that with him just like she had with Daniel before and he is in love with her as well. Oh so suspenseful! I can’t wait for another.

    • Jax says:

      Aw, thank you! That means a lot :3 Heh, guess we’ll just have to see how this all plays out. I already have the storyline in my head all layed out and I have the pictures for next chapter. So it shouldn’t be a super long wait 🙂

  6. Morgan says:

    The whole entire time I’m reading this I went from whoah to Whoaahh to WHOAH HOLY FREAKING POOP VALL!!! I’m so confused but I think I’m kinda getting an idea as to where this is going with Isa but I’m gonna keep it to myself 😃 but there is something wrong defiantly going on with her and it’s about time Val found someone he didn’t find amusing to manipulate. And an older woman?! You dog Val 😉 lol I do have a question though if Daniel was Isa doctor from a young age then how did Val find her? Did she break out the hospital? But great chapter I’m glad you had the time to get one out 😃

    • Jax says:

      Haha! I feel bad finding amusement in the fact that you guys are so confused. I love hearing your theories though 😀 hehe. Yeah, that was totally not a good thing to do AT ALL. Next chapter is gonna be super crazy XD I have the pictures already, I just need to write it. With her past, you’re just going to have to wait 😉 Thank you!!

  7. parabee27 says:

    O…M…G…
    *Dies* *Has a creepy smile on while dying*
    I think that it was the right idea to hand Isa over to Val, temporarily at least.
    One minute I think that Isa is not mature at all, the next minute I think she is, and now I think she isn’t. Ugh. So frustrating!

  8. Okay! I finally get the chance to comment on this! Sorry it took so long!!! You already kinda know my reasons though… XD :-*

    Anyway! I love how all of this is unfolding! You are really doing an excellent job! I definitely think that it’s a better idea for Val to be Jolin’s doctor. Daniel didn’t have to be such a jerk about it! The hibiscus…

    I feel bad for Logan. She really is trying… Val’s just not the easiest person to be with, and I think she’s starting to realize that now.

    It’s sad that Val had to use “sneaky” methods in order to do what he thought was right. But oh my gosh! I don’t think he expected Jolin to act like that… He might have bit off more than he can chew!

    Loved this chapter babe. Great job! Love ya!

  9. misssnootface says:

    Omg. Poor Isa, Poor Val, their gonna be so confused after that. I definately think that Daniel has a lot to do with Isa’s past. I feel like ive figured it out but knowing this legacy there gonna be a lot of twists and turns and i’ll end up being completely wrong. Aw Logan is really trying, such a shame 😦 Im so glad that Val gets a chance to try help Isa, Isa’s story gonna be deep. eeep 😀 great chapter Jax, hows things?

  10. Angel says:

    Finally got around to reading/commenting on this chapter! ^-^

    I’ll admit, I used to hate Logan. But now I feel bad for her. She’s really trying with Val, and it seems like she’s realizing that she’s losing him. And he’s starting to realize it, too.

    I’m really excited to read how all of this is gonna play out, and it’s gonna be awesome. =D

    Great chapter, and I hope you get to update soon. =D

    • Jax says:

      Thanks for reading, sissy :3

      Exactly! She’s always done nothing but try with Val and always love him so very much, but now it’s slowly creeping out that there really is something wrong and it scares her. She doesn’t want to lose Val and all that they built together. He’s her everything and he shoves that back in her face all the time.

      I’m glad. I got another chapter ready, I just need to write it out. 🙂

      Thanks!

  11. I smell a Pregnancy coming on, OOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHH! I think he should be with Isa (Jolin) and that he should break up with Logan and when he tells Isa he loves her she will wake up and realize the truth and then have her memory come back. But, she will also be mad because of what happened but eventually they will find True love with in. But, their is one thing, I think you should change what I just told you a bit because you are a Better Writer than me.

    Not trying to be bossy just suggesting! 🙂

  12. O…M…G! Frickin Amazing! So sorry if this is rude but when are you going to write the next chapter :\ ?

  13. O_O;; <– MAH FACEEEEEE.

    Oh jeeeeeeeeeeeeez. Oh jeez, oh jeez! I just–ahhhhhhhhhhh! This could, and most likely will, blow up SO BADLY! Gahhh! *clutches heart and falls over*

Leave a Reply

